<3

IMG_4292

YIP 365.291: <3 <3 <3

I know I must say this often, but finally! Friday! How about a cupcake? A double chocolate one to be exact? Recently, I picked up a copy of Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life: Stories from My Kitchen Table, which just came out in paperback. I was immediately taken by her chocolate cupcake recipe. Suffice to say they did not disappoint. And believe it or not, as Molly says in the book, they are even better the next day. Go and make some this weekend! Happy Friday!

Molly’s Chocolate Cupcakes
from A Homemade Life: Stories from My Kitchen Table

I’m sure this recipe is great, as written (which is the way I’ve provided it below) but, I made a few tweaks based on what I had around the house and my level of energy on a Thursday night (extremely low). I substituted some Ghiardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips for all of the chocolate in this recipe. In place of the coffee, I used some espresso powder dissolved in hot water. I didn’t have much plain yogurt left either so I used half yogurt and half buttermilk. Despite my laziness, I don’t think the cupcakes suffered a bit.

Ingredients for the Cupcakes
1 oz. semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
1/2 cup hot brewed coffee
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon unbleached, all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup well-stirred, plain, whole-milk yogurt (not low fat or nonfat)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Ingredients for the Glaze
8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 300 F (150 C). Line the muffin tins with paper liners.
2. Put the semisweet chocolate in a medium bowl with hot coffee. Let it stand, stirring occasionally until the chocolate melts and the mixture is smooth.
3. In another medium bowl, whisk together the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
4. In a separate bowl, beat the egg with whatever mixer you have or by hand, until it is pale yellow. Add the oil, yogurt, and vanilla, beating well.
5. Gradually pour the melted chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and beat till it combines thoroughly.
6. Add all the dry ingredients all at once, and beat on low speed until the batter is just combined. With a spatula, scrape down the sides of the bowl and briefly stir to make sure all the dry ingredients are absorbed.
7. Spoon the batter into the lined muffin tins and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in a cupcake comes out clean.
8. Let them cool completely before frosting.
9. To make the glaze, melt the bittersweet chocolate in a glass bowl over gently simmering water. Stir frequently to prevent scorching. The glaze is ready when the chocolate is completely smooth. Working one cupcake at a time, dip the top of the cupcake into the melted chocolate, tilting and rotating until the chocolate spreads out to the edges.
10. Set the cupcakes aside at room temperature until chocolate sets, at least one hour. The chocolate glaze will become more matte and firm.
11. Store them in an air tight container at room temperature.

Yield: 12 cupcakes

4 responses to “<3

  1. This would have been delicious for breakfast this morning with my coffee. That should be the only way to start a Friday.
    They look great!

  2. A cupcake like this would make any day better for me! YUM!

  3. I love that book! Such a winner. Try the banana bread with chocolate and ginger…holy god delicious.

    http://whitneyinchicago.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/a-homemade-lifes-banana-bread/

  4. I love that book and wanted to make everything in it. Thanks for reminding me that I need to pull that book out.

    Those cupcakes look awesome!

Leave a Reply

