6 hours in key west

best lunch ever!

enjoying the view

on the half shell

stone crab!

just steps away

IMG_4655

dessert

What a week! Such a far cry from last week’s rest and relaxation that I have to ask myself if last week was a dream? Thank goodness I have all these photos to remind me that last week did actually happen. I had so much fun! Hyejin was such a great travel companion because she’s laid back and also has different strengths and interests. She can chat up almost anyone (we made a lot of friends on the trip) and always knows where to go to get a good drink. It’s probably no surprise to you that I was responsible for documenting our trip and making sure we ate well. 😀

I must tell you about my favorite meal of the trip–our lunch in Key West. After walking through the city, doing some shopping, and touring the Hemingway Home, we were thirsty, cranky, and absolutely famished. I was determined to eat my fill of conch and seafood on this trip, so I’d picked out Conch Republic as a “must-see” place on our trip. It definitely did not disappoint and I would happily go back again if I ever make it back to Key West. We ordered a half dozen oysters, a bowl of conch chowder, a basket of conch fritters, two of the largest stone crab claws I’ve ever seen, and some very stiff mojitos. Right by the water, it was the perfect place to stop and refuel.

Although I was stuffed beyond belief, I insisted we stop by the Blond Giraffe for a slice of key lime pie because surely, no trip to Key West is complete with out that, right? I took a ton more photos in Key West so this will not be the last time you hear about it here. Have a great weekend!

2 responses to “6 hours in key west

  1. Those oysters look so good!

  2. Great pictures…and you’re right about that restaurant. it doesn’t have the most character of any resturant in KW – but the food is great & the location outstanding!

Leave a Reply

