a wee bit overboard

ahhh yes
comfort
childhood is calling
Spätzle!
chilaquiles!
1. arugula with roasted cherry tomatoes and proscuitto wrapped mission figs and goat cheese, 2. arroz con pollo, 3. brisket with carrots and onions + spätzle, 4. spätzle with buttered breadcrumbs and parsley, 5. chilaquiles

Newly returned from the longest, most exhausting business trip in recent memory, you might say I went a little nutso in the kitchen this weekend. Above is just a selection of things consumed over the weekend. Not pictured are all the things I baked over the weekend (that really merits a separate post) or the two delicious meals I ate out (tacos at De Cero and sushi at Tanoshii). Is it any wonder that I’ve put on some serious pounds this summer??

Ill fitting clothes aside, I can’t say that I regret it. Cooking for me has always been grounding, sustaining, and therapeutic. I’m glad I took advantage of the long weekend while I had it. This will be the last one for several more weeks as I set out for another series of work trips–DC next week, San Francisco at the end of the month, Iowa early next month, and plenty of crazed preparation in Chicago in between each trip. I’ll try to check in here when I can so do pop in to say hello.

2 responses to “a wee bit overboard

  1. Most delicious looking food! I am glad you are taking the time to make great food for yourself. When I am stressed, I tend to do a lot of take-out and very unhealthy foods.

  2. I am sorry to hear about the exhausting business trip, but your food looks amazing!! I hope it helped you feel better.
    I can’t wait to read about your baking!

Leave a Reply

