11.4: tears for fears

absolutely necessary
It’s been a rough week folks. Yesterday, I went home early (if 6 PM constitutes early) for a sanity break, to cook myself a proper meal (hadn’t eaten dinner at home in well over a week), and to review docs from somewhere other than my office. I sorta got yelled at for it but I think this dinner was almost worth it. Pork chops with caramelized onions, ginger pear preserves (from my earlier canning adventure, a perfect accompaniment with the pork), potato onion pierogis, and this amazing warm brussels sprout salad. The recipe called for pecorino but next time I think I will go for parmigiano and maybe scale back a little on the lemon. (I used the shredder disk on my food processor so this salad came together pretty quickly!)

Still hoping I may make it to tonight’s Frightened Rabbit show (although I’ve already been warned that I will be working late, again). Keep your fingers crossed for me, ok? In the meantime, I’m going to do my best to stay positive.

Warm Brussels Sprout Salad
Adapted from Everyday Food, October 2010

Ingredients
* 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
* 3/4 pound brussels sprouts, trimmed and shredded
* coarse salt and ground pepper
* 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
* 1/4 cup grated pecorino cheese (1/2 ounce)

Directions
1. In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium-high. Add brussels sprouts. Season with salt and pepper and cook, tossing often, until bright green and slightly wilted, about 3 minutes. Add lemon juice and transfer to a large bowl. Add cheese and 1 tablespoon oil; toss well to combine and season with salt and pepper.

Serves 4.

2 responses to “11.4: tears for fears

  1. That brussels sprout salad looks amazing! I hope your weekend has been enjoyable & the upcoming work week treats you well! I love following your blog and reading about your food and craft projects… even though you’re a very busy person, you still make room for things that are important to you – this inspires me!
    xo,
    Linnea

Leave a Reply

