11.6: waffleizer

malted waffles!
Saturdays are for sleeping in, listening to NPR, and leisurely eating breakfast. I confess that during a week I’m really not a breakfast person. I know it’s a terrible habit (I’ve been lectured about it by many a doctor and personal trainer) but I routinely skip breakfast. Give me two to three (lately more like four to five) cups of coffee and a tiny bit of something sweet (a cookie, a piece of chocolate) and I’m ready to go.

Breakfast is clearly in the domain of weekends and it signals the work-free day ahead. A few months ago, I got belgian waffle maker. Normally, I hate uni-tasking kitchen appliances but I have to tell you that this is the best $35 I’ve spent all year. Making and eating waffles at home feels like such a luxury, such a treat. For the first several tries, I made waffles from a mix. In my head, I had the idea that waffles from scratch required a bit of work–too much work for a Saturday morning. I’m happy to report though, that making amazing waffles from scratch is not a whole lot harder. This recipe from the new Baked Explorations book is super easy and a million times tastier than something from a mix. Go and make some now!

Malted Waffles
Adapted from Baked Explorations: Classic American Desserts Reinvented

Ingredients
*1 cup all-purpose flour
*1/2 cup malted milk powder
*1/2 teaspoon baking soda
*3/4 teaspoon baking powder
*1/4 teaspoon salt
*1 tablespoon brown sugar
*1 large egg*
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
*1 1/4 cups buttermilk

Directions
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, malt powder, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs slightly, add the buttermilk and butter, and whisk again.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the buttermilk mixture into it. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ever so gently until just combined–there will be some visible lumps. Cook the waffles according to the manufacturer’s instructions for your iron. (My waffle maker generally requires about half a cup of batter per waffle.) Cook the waffles until they are golden brown or darker. (My waffle maker takes about 3 1/2 minutes.) Serve immediately with maple syrup and butter.

Yield: 3-5 waffles (depending on size of waffle maker)

5 responses to “11.6: waffleizer

  1. What a pretty breakfast picture!

  2. Once again, wish I’m your neighbor 🙂

  3. Looks great! I’ll have to get some malted milk powder and pull out our 1970s hand-me-down waffle iron.
    From the title of this post, I assume you’ve seen this, but just to be sure: http://www.waffleizer.com/

  4. Pingback: 11.14: oh yeah | rhymes with spoon

  5. Pingback: balanced | rhymes with spoon

Leave a Reply

