lap dog

lap dog quilt (front)
lap dog quilt (back)
I’ve known this for a long, long time but I have a problem. I hoard craft supplies like none other, particularly fabrics. It’s gotten to the point of it being embarrassing. I can’t find things. I can’t remember that I even bought some of the things I find in my apartment. It’s bad people. Bad. So one of my primo resolutions for 2011 is to do something about that. Quit buying. Start making.

I present Exhibit #1, the “i’m a wiener! baby quilt” from Boo Davis’ awesome book, Dare to be Square Quilting. I’ve tried to avoid buying any more craft books (I already have enough to last three lifetimes) but this is one that I’m very glad I picked up. The quilts are whimsical and fun. I love Davis’ no-nonsense approach to quilting. This quilt top came together quickly. I was able to do the quilt top and back in just one caffeine-fueled Saturday. I dragged my feet on the quilting and binding and completed it while watching movies with my dad. In the end though, so worth it! I’m so happy with the way this turned out. Though it’s a “baby quilt,” (on the smallish side, 41″x41″) it’s staying on my couch or possibly following me to the office.

The batting is Quilters Dream Natural Deluxe Dream-High Loft which I got from Purl Soho. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect batting (past experiences with batting have yielded quilts that felt too thin and stiff to me). I may have found a winner with this one though. It’s got nice loft and warmth and yields a wonderfully crinkly quilt after washing. The thing that I love most about this quilt though is that it was a stash buster. Minus the solids I needed for this quilt (Kona Cotton in sage, various shades of brown Kona), all of the other fabrics are straight from the stash, including the perfect daschund fabric backing I picked up on sale at Superbuzzy years ago.

I’m hoping for a lot more of these stash-busting quilts in 2011! Hold me to it, ok?

13 responses to “lap dog

  1. Will do! And that is an AWESOME quilt!

  2. Omigod, that is the cutest thing ever! I need to get to crafting again. Jealous.
    –karen (formerly of memyselfandkai.com)

  3. it’s awesome. when i first saw it in your flickr stream i was guessing that it was from that book. i’m with you on the no-buying/more making. my fabric stash is insane right now.

  4. Excellent! I also have a self imposed ban on buying fabrics… I’m really glad you like that batting. I usually use warm and natural, but it does seem really stiff. I may have to try that stuff. I also might have to buy that book…

  5. Awww! That’s an awesome quilt πŸ™‚

  6. I always use Quilter’s Dream πŸ˜‰

  7. I love the quilt. And thanks for the batting info – I’ve been looking for a higher-loft cotton batting.

  8. hooray! that’s a super sweet quilt.

  9. Very cool. I saw that book at B&N the other day and thought it looked super fun. I love how your quilt turned out!

  10. that is FREAKIN’ amazing – I love it!

  11. Oh my, so here are the deets! I’m obviously guilty of not having visited you here a while 😦 As I said on fb, this is just too much awesomeness to take in. And I have the same confession to make re: hoarding. In fact, I just made a quilt as well, my first one! I’ll have to post about that once I get my camera/ computer to work in sync again (don’t you hate technical issues?) I’ll have to use my holiday BN gift card to get that book… πŸ™‚

  12. This quilt is so awesome! I really wish I could get back into making quilts, but that won’t happen for a long time.

  13. I bought fabric today to make this quilt!!! Cannot wait

Leave a Reply

