carb crazed

bagels!
as intended
Someone on twitter recently dubbed me the queen of homemade carbs. I guess judging from my recent flickr and blog content, I can see why one might get that impression. For whatever reason, I can’t seem to stop baking lately. My list of “what I need to bake” seems to never end. In case you’re wondering how I’m not 1,000 pounds, it’s because I give most of it away to various friends and co-workers. I enjoy the process more than the final product and baking provides a sense of comfort and instant gratification that I don’t seem to be finding in my other hobbies.

This weekend, I tried another recipe from Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day. I’ve made bagels before but Reinhart’s recipe is a clear winner. The key difference is one sorta hard to find ingredient–barley malt syrup. I found it at my local Whole Foods. Flavor wise it does make a difference though and it gives the bagels a nice golden color since it is used both in the bagel and in boiling. I had a fairly productive Friday night preparing the bagels in advance so I was able to enjoy them for a late breakfast on Saturday. Topped with lox, cream cheese, sweet onion, and capers, it was the perfect breakfast and much cheaper than a plane ticket to New York.

is it legal?
cross section
Saturday was also the last day of garment school. I decided this was the perfect excuse to try Melissa’s recipe for dark chocolate salted caramel cupcakes. My crappy pictures (poor lighting, lack of patience) hardly due these beauties justice. Dare I say, this is the best cupcake that I have ever made. They are moist, complex, and the salted caramel sauce in the filling is fabulous. You could put it on a shoe and I’d probably eat it.

Busy week ahead but I’m hoping to get some baking in anyway (maybe this pop tart recipe, different from the ones I made before). At some point, I will also have to tell you about this amazing meal I had last week in Boston. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

4 responses to “carb crazed

  1. Nothing wrong with carbs. Looks delicious!

  2. This looks entirely too yummy! I wouldn’t have your discipline to give delicious carbs away though… I WILL weigh 1000 lbs! LOL!! BTW, I saw someone’s post on FB about bottles of “bacon syrup” on store shelf, made me think of you 😉

  3. Pingback: balanced | rhymes with spoon

  4. OMG! Make me stuff!

Leave a Reply

