staycation (pt. 1)

Remember how at the beginning of the school year you had to write essays about what you did on your summer vacation? My family was never much of a vacationing/travel type, so I always felt lame trying to come up with something exciting to say about how I spent my summer. Oh how times have changed. Now when I have time off, I love nothing more than to stay put and relax. This past weekend, I took a much needed, long overdue mini staycation (Friday through Monday) and reveled in the mundane, the everyday. Of course you know that means a lot of time spent in the kitchen. These are all things I made this weekend:

gingered chicken+avocado+mango
gingered chicken sandwich with avocado mash & champagne mangoes
para uno
mixed seafood paella
a confluence of things
kimchi pizza with prosciutto, fried egg, toasted sesame oil, and scallions

All of these recipes are from Joe Yonan’s Serve Yourself Night: Nightly Adventures in Cooking for One. Whether or not you live alone, this is a book I highly recommend. A lot of really interesting flavors and recipes and in perfect portions for the solo cook like me. I’m planning on trying out several more recipes from this book soon.

5 responses to “staycation (pt. 1)

  1. Wow that looks delicious. Looks like another cookbook for my amazon cart for me!

  2. Any days away from work should be considered a vacation, especially when you get to do what you absolutely love! Everything looks so delicious. I’ve been looking for a cookbook for one… can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

  3. Yay for days off!

  4. Kimchee pizza with prosciutto… got the feeling I won’t be able to find that in China either 😉

  5. Your staycation meals look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

