coming out

IMG_7538
Sometimes I feel like I lead a double life. At work, I’m one person; outside of work, entirely another. Ours is a pretty stuffy (and at times, incredibly boring) profession. Creativity, hobbies, a life of any sorts seems highly frowned upon. I’m one of the only women attorneys in my office and I want to be taken seriously. I just want to be one of the guys. Letting on about all the stuff I do outside of the office–sewing, knitting, photography, cooking, baking–well, that just doesn’t seem in keeping with the “I’m just one of the guys” image I’m going for. But it’s hard keeping all of those things at the margins, especially when I’ve been routinely been made to work 12-15 hour days and weekends.

A month and a half ago, I went to Boston for work. I was traveling with a partner I work for a lot. He knows I eat out a lot and I have a lot of strong opinions about food. He left me in charge of dinner plans. I hadn’t been to Boston in ages so I called up my brother for recommendations. He was unequivocal. I had to go to Craigie on Main.

I’m always a bit reluctant to break out a camera at the dinner table, at least when I’m with non-photography people. Doubly so when I’m with co-workers unfamiliar with my myriad hobbies and interests. But I figured, what the hell? Time to let the cat out of the bag. Certainly, I got a raised eyebrow from the partner when I broke out my dSLR but I figured this is a meal I would want to remember. And thankfully it was. As usual, Tim’s recommendation did not disappoint. My dinner there was easily one of the best meals I’ve had in a while.

IMG_7533
an amuse bouche of house cured guanciale

pig tails
crispy fried pig tails with pickled peanuts, nuoc cham, and cilantro (unexpectedly delicious)

garganelli
house-made rye flour garganelli pasta with ragoût of suckling pig confit (so delicate)

skirt steak
skirt steak a la poele with oxtail pastrami, pearl barley, charred vidalia purée

branzino
daikon milk-poached Mediterranean loup de mer with rock shrimp, bok choy, horseradish, beet-dashi broth

IMG_7543
roasted bone marrow–Love love love! I swear this is like my last supper/death row meal, a pile of roasted marrow, toasts, and parsley shallot salad. The partner was skeptical but I think I won him over. I’ve made it my mission recently to introduce everyone I know to the joys of roasted bone marrow. 🙂

IMG_7546
confit and roasted milk-fed pig’s ead with Peking pancakes, spicy pumpkin sambal, boudin noir-hoisin sauce–we didn’t order this but the guys next to us did. They saw me wielding my camera and asked me if I wanted to take a photo. It looked so good!

my dream dessert
bourbon pecan ice cream tart with smoked Mexican salt chocolate sauce, bacon pecan crust–This was pretty much my dream dessert. Everything I love rolled into one perfect dish.

IMG_7548
sour milk panna cotta with coriander and cashew granola, brown butter, banana purée

IMG_7530
An impressive meal all around. I was doubly impressed by the kitchen when they offered (without me even asking or knowing frankly) whether it was OK if they recook my loup de mer because the chef wasn’t happy with the way it came out. Now that is a sign of a kitchen that takes its work seriously and cares deeply about the product it puts out.

IMG_7531
I’m not always fond of work travel (especially of the last minute variety) but I’d happily go back to Boston any day if it means I could have another meal here.

Craigie on Main, 853 Main Street, Cambridge, MA 02139

6 responses to “coming out

  1. It’s downright shameful that a friend from Chicago has been to Cragie on Maine before I have. I’ll have to rectify that, ASAP.

  2. Or, Craigie on Main. My vowels are wandering about today …

  3. Looks AMAZING. I think we should just be food critics full time…or just go into food full time =)

    Hahaha, feel you about the camera thingy =)

  4. Sara, your food photos are looking *so* good

  5. Omg, I am so glad you whipped out your camera!

Leave a Reply

