ends and new beginnings

YIP 365.316: runway
If you’re still here and you’re reading this, thank you. Thank you so much. Thank you for those who commented and for those of you who sent care packages or cards, called, emailed, texted, g-chatted, tweeted, etc. And thank you to those who continue to peek into this space even though I haven’t really tended to it the past several weeks. It means so much. It really does. I would maybe expect this sort of kindness from friends but from people who I’ve never met or barely know? It’s amazing. There were so many times this past month where I felt terribly, awfully, painfully sad and alone. It was powerful and it was overwhelming. But just when I didn’t think I could take it any longer, someone would check in, say hi, express concern. Then things hurt a little less and I was reminded that though my network here in Chicago is lacking, I have a lot of amazing, wonderful people in my life.

There’s a lot of stuff I can’t or won’t go into here (lies, betrayals, great disappointments) and the crazy turn of events this summer are much larger than a failed relationship (although that was certainly a catalyst for a lot of other things). I’m tired and still very much hurting but I would remiss if I spent this post dwelling on all of that. Because out of all this tremendous pain, I’ve been given a gift–2.5 weeks of vacation and a new job. To say that I’m relieved is an understatement. I was badly in need of a change and I think this is just what the doctor ordered. I haven’t felt this good or this optimistic about something in a very long time. I’m excited to be starting this new chapter of life with a clean slate and I feel lucky to have y’all rooting for me. I know I keep saying it but I can’t say it enough. Thank you.

10 responses to “ends and new beginnings

  1. Enjoy yourself! And good luck at your new job. Here’s hoping that a fresh start is what you need.

  2. I am horrible with words, but I am so happy for you and hope this is the change you need!

  3. I’ve never left you a comment, but I’ve enjoyed your blog and am so happy that things are looking up for you! Sending you all the best wishes from West Virginia.

  4. GREAT news! Congrats on the job and look forward to hearing more. Enjoy the time off, too!

  5. Congrats on the new job and enjoy the well deserved break!

  6. Congratulations!
    Enjoy your much deserved rest and have a little fun if you have time left after catching up on sleep. 🙂

  7. i hope it is all you wish it to be and more!

  8. I am sorry about your rough summer, but I am excited for you about your new job!! Your old one sounded pretty miserable. I wish you all the best and hope you are enjoying your vacation!

  9. It’s the beginning of a fresh new brisk fall season and so many good things to look forward to! I miss your blogging! Come back!

  10. Hang in there, and hope the new transition is filled with excitement!

Leave a Reply

