throwing caution to the wind


Cobbled Road, originally uploaded by littlelegsgeoff moving home off line 3 weeks.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the choices that I’ve made in life….the series of missteps and mishaps that got here–to a half lit office in freezing cold Chicago. I’m reminded of my favorite Robert Frost poem and wonder if too many of my decisions have been overly rational, dictated by practical considerations, concerns for money?

I was talking with a friend a few weeks ago and she said her idea of a “dream job” was not working at all. I kinda wonder if I’m the same way. I’m a bit perplexed by people who claim that “they’d go crazy if they didn’t work.” Whenever, I have time off, I’m never bored. I never miss my job. But would I if I had all that leisure time?

So I’m curious…assuming you could be completely selfish and not have to think about anyone else, money was no object, what would your dream job be? Would you work at all?

10 responses to “throwing caution to the wind

  1. Sara, it’s like you read my mind. Until recently I worked full-time in an industry I spent four years studying and really loved. But I hated working in the offices, the office politics, the overwhelming negativity of those offices and politics. Now I work part-time and I LOVE it. I worry that I am losing my ambition that at my heart I am a lazy slouch. I don’t know what my dream job is yet. Maybe I don’t know yet what my real strengths are because I’m uncomfortable “promoting” myself. But I know I don’t like telling people what to do and I really don’t like being told what to do and I like working at home.

  2. Professional dog walker. I’d be surrounded by happy and generally uncomplaining clientele and I’d get to be outside all day 🙂

    Kristen

  3. I don’t think I would have a J-O-B, but I think would work, somehow. I need to have a purpose.
    A friend shared this with me yesterday (source link follows quote) and it sums it up well, I think:
    “four elements she believes we all need to be happy: satisfying work, the experience of being good at something, time spent with people we like, and the chance to be a part of something bigger.”
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=99244253

  4. Oh yes, I’ve already had the “if money were no object” daydream! I wouldn’t have a regular full-time job, because there is sooo much stuff I enjoy doing outside of work. I’d probably do short-term contract/volunteer work a few times a year because I would like to contribute somehow to improving people’s lives.

  5. that's an interesting question…i will say though that i *have* to work. it's just something i need for my psyche. i contribute to my IRA regularly, but i have no intention to retire really. i've always had a penchant for science, and i enjoy (most of the time) working in biomedical research. i think if i ever got bored with it, i'd go do something else.

    for what it's worth, i've always thought you should own you own business. a yarn & fabric store, or something along those lines. 😉

  6. Sandy Rodriguez

    I think Katie is on to something– maybe a crafts store/bakery/coffeeshop. I would totally go to that. ;o)

    I always subscribed to the “do what you love” rule, but it’s very hard to do this especially when you want stuff like affordable health insurance. Case in point, my boyfriend wants to be an orchestral conductor and has a masters in the field, but he’s working in a bank right now. Gotta make ends meet. I figured since I love to read and I love music, being a music librarian would be the thing, but I gotta say, there’s a lot of BS to this job that I’d rather have nothing to do with.

    I am not one of those people who would go crazy without a job, so to answer your question: If money were no object, I would not work…maybe some volunteering if I miss the library, but that’s it. I have plenty of other interests to keep me occupied and happy. I want to live on my own terms. Doesn’t everybody?

  7. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Hey, I’ve also had a similar early-mid-life crisis for a few years now. I read tons of books like this one (totally confused me) and this one (somewhat useful).

    For now, I’ve resorted to the fact that my job is a job, a way to utilize my knowledge and experience to contribute to healthcare and the economy (and my wallet), but it doesn’t have to be the reason for my existence. For that, I have my (soon-to-expand) family, our dog, our friends, my little budding crafting business, my community, and the whole world to explore.

    Having said that, there are still days when I’m all idealistic and want to leave my job and do crafting stuff full time. But I have a feeling changing priorities would snap me back to reality very soon…

    Definitely interesting to see other people’s responses too 🙂

  8. I just read all your posts and you’ve had quite an exhausting 2008! I love your goals for 2009, and I hope Chicago shapes up and acts nicer to you!

    As for my dream job, have you heard of the best job in the world they’re advertising right now? It’s a island caretaker job with 100 grand salary. Anyway, my dream job would probably be not a full time job. I would love to work part time and have the rest of the week for me-time.

  9. I hear you… I didn’t really ever like working in an office. Lately I realized that it is partially my sensitivities to wearing uncomfortable clothes! I just hate wearing conforming clothes. So I love being at home and wearing whatever I want!

    I am always busy working – cooking, knitting, or sewing. I wouldn’t be able to do without these little pleasures…

    Good question you had!
    ~Emily

  10. I love your blog and sharing your thoughts on life.
    If i could have any j.o.b. I would really like it to be in the quilting/crafting arena. Maybe a long-armer, or designer, or author. My main problem is that it’s hard for me to get motivated when i KNOW i HAVE to do something. That is something i’m really going to work on in 2009 and hopefully overcome!

    I look forward to getting to know you through the SewConnected3 group.

    Jennifer

Leave a comment